The International Association for Shell and Spatial structures (IASS), founded by Eduardo Torroja in 1959, has as its goal the achievement of further progress through an interchange of ideas among all those interested in lightweight structural systems such as lattice, tension, membrane, and shell structures.
IASS organises annual it International Symposium on themes of general interest to engineers, architects and builders.
The Working Group 6 on Tension and Membrane Structures is chaired by Ken'ichi Kawaguchi (Chair), Marijke Mollaert (Co-Chair) and Ronald Shaeffer (Co-Chair).

IASS 2017: Interfaces - Architecture. Engineering. Science was held from 25th until 28th September 2017 at HafenCity University (HCU), Hamburg's university of the built environment and metropolitan development. http://www.iass-structures.org/


IASS 2018: Creativity in structural design will be held from 16th until 20th July at MIT, Boston. http://www.iass2018.org/ 


Reports (published in the TensiNews):